Diane Dodd

Dr. Diane Dodd as jury member of the EYCA 2019

President and co-Founder of IGCAT, Dr. Diane Dodd is the Executive Director and the inspiration behind the European Region of Gastronomy Platform and Award. Together with the first ten awarded Regions of Gastronomy she has pioneered the European Young Chef Award, the Food Film Menu, the Local Food Gift Challenge and the Top Visitor Experience.

On 22-24 October, she will form part of the jury for the European Young Chef Award 2019, to be held in Rhodes, hosted by South Aegean, European Region of Gastronomy awarded 2019.

A strong supporter of food and cultural diversity, through her work Diane advocates for the safeguard of biodiversity, as well as for the protection and promotion of local food heritage and landscapes, highlighting the vital role that young chefs can play in keeping food traditions alive by means of innovation.

About the European Young Chef Award, Diane affirmed that “participation is an opportunity for talented young chefs to become ambassadors for their region, celebrate their food culture and contribute to a sustainable future.” 

Diane has worked in the cultural policy and management field for over 20 years and maintains relations with a number of important Global and European Institutions including UNWTO, UNESCO, European Commission, OEI, Commonwealth, Asia-Europe Foundation and many others.

About the European Young Chef Award

The European Young Chef Award 2019 is a competition organised and promoted by the International Institute of Gastronomy, Culture, Arts and Tourism (IGCAT) in collaboration with South Aegean, European Region of Gastronomy awarded 2019.

The European Young Chef Award gathers finalists of regional contests from around Europe to present and exchange knowledge about traditional dishes and local food products from their regions and then compete proposing their innovative reinterpretation of traditional recipes, judged by star chefs and international experts.